

Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment

Distr.: General 28 January 2021

Original: English

Committee against Torture

Decision adopted by the Committee under article 22 of the Convention, concerning communication No. 838/2017*, **

Communication submitted by:	B.S. (represented by counsel, Rajwinder Bhambi)
Alleged victim:	The complainant
State party:	Canada
Date of complaint:	13 August 2017 (initial submission)
Substantive issues:	Deportation to India; risk of torture

On 30 December 2020, the Committee, not having received comments from the complainant's counsel on the State party's observations, despite sending three reminders to that effect, decided to discontinue the examination of communication No. 838/2017.

^{**} The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Essadia Belmir, Claude Heller, Erdogan Iscan, Liu Huawen, Jens Modvig, Ilvija Puce, Diego Rodríguez-Pinzón, Sébastien Touzé and Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov.



 $[\]ast\;$ Adopted by the Committee intersessionally on 30 December 2020.