



## **Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women**

Distr.: General 27 June 2016

Original: English

Meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women Nineteenth meeting New York, 21 June 2016

## Report of the nineteenth meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women

1. The nineteenth meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women was held on 21 June 2016.

2. A representative of the Secretary-General opened the meeting, delivered an opening statement on behalf of the Secretary-General and presided over the election of the Chair. Secretariat services were provided by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights and the Office of Legal Affairs. The Permanent Representative of Zambia, Mwaba P. Kasese-Bota, was elected Chair of the meeting by acclamation. Mohammed S. Marzooq (Iraq) and Nadav Yesod (Israel) were elected Vice-Chairs by acclamation. The provisional agenda (CEDAW/SP/2016/1) was adopted.

3. In accordance with article 17, paragraphs 4 and 5, of the Convention, the States parties elected 10 members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women by secret ballot in the first round of voting and 1 member in the second round. Five current members proposed for re-election received new terms: Nicole Ameline (France), Hilary Gbedemah (Ghana), Nahla Haidar (Lebanon), Dalia Leinarte (Lithuania) and Theodora Oby Nwankwo (Nigeria). Five candidates were elected to the Committee for the first time: Gunnar Bergby (Norway), Marion Bethel (Bahamas), Bandana Rana (Nepal), Wenyan Song (China) and Aicha Vall Verges (Mauritania). One former Committee member was elected to serve again: Rosario G. Manalo (Philippines). The list of candidates and their curricula vitae are contained in documents CEDAW/SP/2016/2 and Add.1.

4. Tamader al-Rammah (Saudi Arabia), Asma Khader (Jordan) and Sarah Kilemi (Kenya) withdrew their candidatures before the elections.

5. The representatives of China and the Russian Federation delivered statements under agenda item 6, "Other matters".



